KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Kent County Council held in the Council Chamber, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Thursday, 10 December 2009.

PRESENT: Mr J A Davies (Chairman) Mr W A Hayton (Vice-Chairman)

Mrs A D Allen, Mr M J Angell, Mr D L Brazier, Mr R Brookbank, Mr R B Burgess, Mr C J Capon, Miss S J Carey, Mr N J D Chard, Mr A R Chell, Mr I S Chittenden, Mr L Christie, Mrs P T Cole, Mr N J Collor, Mr G Cooke, Mr B R Cope, Mr H J Craske, Mr A D Crowther, Mr J Cubitt, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley, Mr M C Dance, Mrs T Dean, Mr K A Ferrin, MBE, Mr G K Gibbens, Mr R W Gough, Mrs E Green. Mr M J Harrison. Mr C Hibberd. Mr P M Hill. OBE. Mr D A Hirst. Mrs S V Hohler, Mr P J Homewood, Mr G A Horne MBE, Mr E E C Hotson, Mr M J Jarvis, Mr A J King, MBE, Mr R E King, Mr J A Kite, Mr S J G Koowaree, Mr R J Lees, Mr J F London, Mr R L H Long, TD, Mr P W A Lake, Mrs J Law, Mr K G Lynes, Mr R F Manning, Mr R A Marsh, Mr M J Northey, Mr J Ozoq, Mr K Pugh, Mr W Richardson, Mr L B Ridings, Mr T Prater. Mr M Robertson. Mrs J A Rook, Mr A Sandhu, MBE, Mr J E Scholes, Mr J D Simmonds, Mr C P Smith, Mr K Smith, Mr M V Snelling, Mrs P A V Stockell, Mr B J Sweetland, Mr R Tolputt, Mrs E M Tweed. Mr M J Vye, Mr J Wedgbury, Mr C T Wells. Mr M Whitina. Mrs J Whittle, Mr A Wickham and Mr A Willicombe

IN ATTENDANCE: Mr P Gilroy (Chief Executive), Mr G Wild (Director of Law and Governance) and Mr P Sass, Head of Democratic Services and Local Leadership.

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

1. Apologies

The Chief Executive reported apologies from the following Members:

Mr R Bayford Mr A Bowles Mr J R Bullock, MBE Mr P Carter Mr R Frayne Mr T Gates Mr J Kirby Mr S Manion Mr R Parry Mr R Pascoe

2. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of personal or prejudicial interest by Members in any item on the agenda.

3. Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

The Chairman announced that it was his great privilege and honour to be the first Kent County Council Chairman to preside over this special meeting of the Authority to confer the award of Honorary Alderman to eight of its most distinguished former Members, who had been judged to have provided eminent services, both to Kent County Council and the people of Kent.

The Chairman welcomed the nominees and their guests to the meeting, although noted with sadness the absence of Mrs Joyce Esterson, who was at home recuperating from an operation.

Mr Alex King, on behalf of the Leader, Mrs Dean and Mr Christie all spoke briefly to introduce their nominations.

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY: that the following distinguished former Members of Kent County Council be awarded the status of Honorary Alderman:

Mr Terry Birkett Mrs Joyce Esterson Dr Frank Fox Mr Frank Gibson OBE Lord Kingsdown KG PC Mr Peter Morgan Mrs Allison Wainman OBE Mr Fred Wood-Brignall

Lord Kingsdown and Mrs Allison Wainman responded in suitable terms on behalf of all eight recipients of the award and offered their sincere gratitude for the honour bestowed upon them by the County Council.